ramen and pickles

science, technology, and medicine served up with some tasty noodles

Kit Ramen

In an effort to try something new, I bought a sort of fresh ramen kit from Mitsuwa.   It was basically two servings, with fresh noodles and a flavor packet, in very helpful “Oriental” flavor.

I also found out that Mitsuwa sells chashu in their prepared food section.  I got a little styrofoam tray with three pieces.   I also bought some kamaboko to add to the ramen.  The kamaboko is mainly because no ramen around here has kamoboko in it any more.  It has sort of fallen out of favor, despite being a common part of many traditional ramen offerings.  Kamaboko is the little fish cake slices, often red and white but sometimes blue and white, often with a red swirl, although I’ve even seen a Hello Kitty kamaboko, which I think I would serve as an add-in or in a special ramen if I ever own a ramen restaurant.

I followed the directions for preparing the broth, which was basically to heat some water and add the packet which sort of had the consistency of miso paste.   As can be seen from the picture I added a a few things, including the chashu and kamaboko.  Overall, as can be seen from the picture, it wasn’t actually super appealing to look at.  The noodles ended up being fairly decent, with nice flavor and consistency.  I didn’t care for the broth very much, and I don’t think I will get the “Oriental” flavor again, I would have even preferred just a regular chicken stock or miso soup.

For my Thanksgiving ramen, I made a vegetable and katsuboshi part of my broth, and the turkey part separately (the turkey part did have some veggies in it), just because it seemed like the right thing to do and more convenient, and I subsequently watched David Chang doing something similar on his TV show, Mind of a Chef.  That reminds me, if I have time I definitely need to write a longer blog post about that wonderful show.

So for now, I’m going to leave the ramen making to the experts, and if I have Japanese soup at home it will be ochazuke, which I suppose is very Japaneasy of me.

ImageImage

_________________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

