ramen and pickles

science, technology, and medicine served up with some tasty noodles

Thanksgiving Ramen

One of my colleagues at the medical school pointed me to this wonderful post on ramen made from Thanksgiving leftovers.   I changed the details a bit, and I was pleased with the results, so I will give some of what I did.

We already made a very delicious thick broth from the turkey bones, so I wanted to make a dashi to mix with it and make it more ramen compliant.  I used celery, Tokyo negi, katsuobushi, seaweed, and dried yuzu, along with some special Japanese salt that a colleague got for me a on recent trip to Japan.  After cooking for several hours and then straining twice, this made a wonderful dashi, which I mixed with an almost equal proportion of the thick (gelatinous in the fridge) turkey stock.  Overall, I was very pleased with the result.  It was very different from the recommended method in blog post, but I took that more as an inspiration, as I wanted a lighter, shio-style broth.

Thanksgiving Dashi

Thanksgiving Dashi

Special Japanese Salt

Special Japanese Salt

Dried Yuzu

Dried Yuzu

Because good, soft-boiled marinated eggs are one of my favorite parts of good ramen, I spent some time trying to figure out how to get them good, as I tried following this recommendation.  We have some wonderful truly free range eggs from the farmers market, totally irregular in shape and color of their very thick shells with fantastic thick very dark golden yolks.  I was able to cook them nicely soft-boiled, but these more free range chickens had very thick eggshells, and I had a hard time shelling them cleanly.  I tried some tricks including adding salt to the water and soaking them in white vinegar (which did seem to start to dissolve layers of the shell), but dinnertime was fast approaching, so I had to go with these somewhat ugly eggs, which I marinated in soy sauce and green tea for a few hours.  They were not pretty, but they were quite good.  I shredded the leftover turkey (white and dark) and stir-fried it in oil, as recommended from the blog post recipe.  Using some fresh noodles from the Japanee market (I ended up overcooking them slightly), I steamed some kale and spinach for greens, sprinkled some green onion on top, added some nori and called it dinner.  I don’t have really great photography, mostly because I was hungry and impatient to dig in.  Verdict: It’s  a great way to have leftover turkey!

Thanksgiving Ramen

Thanksgiving Ramen

______________________________________________

2 responses to “Thanksgiving Ramen

  1. Pingback: Egg Noodles (thin) with soy sauce, tofu, chicken, onion, carrots, coriander, broccoli, peppers. | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

  2. lmjapan December 3, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    Your Thanksgiving ramen looks delicious! Must try this with the leftover turkey one year! I always use my bones to make Japanese turkey curry.

Leave a Reply

